include($headervar.$skin.$extension); ?>
I got this email yesterday allegedly from Ebay, asking me to verify my information before I could place further bids. The body of the email is really an image, which is linked to a bogus site -

You can see the reason is obvious for making the body an image - that way the bogus people were able to put a very “ebay-looking” address as if for the consumer to click, while the actual link being clicked on is really the bogus one the picture was linking to. The site asks for your SSN, debit and credit card numbers, the code in the back of your cards and your ATM pin. I am going to forward this email to Ebay’s customer support so they can do something about it. Be really careful, people!
Posted by shanti at September 26, 2003 3:59 PMTrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.realwomenonline.com/scgi-bin/mt-tb.cgi/2909
Thanks. Got the same email. Kinda had it sitting around thinking to go over to the eBay site directly and check out if it was real - but while I was waiting I deleted it and never bothered anyway:). (I’ve never bought anything from eBay.)
Posted by: Solomon at September 27, 2003 10:39 PM
Good for you, Solomon - it is a pretty clever trick, really.
Posted by: Shanti at September 29, 2003 10:42 AM
There is also one supposedly from PayPal, possibly a few others.
Posted by: John Anderson at September 29, 2003 11:29 AM
I feel sad for the people who are taken by such stuff, John. It is very easy to get tricked because not many people understand the internet and the way it work, yet.
Posted by: Shanti at September 29, 2003 12:15 PM
I got it too and reported it. Crazy, isn’t it?!
Posted by: Medb at October 3, 2003 11:40 AM
It is, Medb - it is frustrating to think that so many people who are not very tech-savvy might actually fall for this.
Posted by: Shanti at October 3, 2003 1:06 PM